Facebook

Emergency Money Bills of the Nineteenth Century

This collection is part of the holdings of "Paper Bills in Bavaria" of the HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung (HVB foundation: collections of bank notes).

During the nineteenth century, there was only one Bavarian issue of emergency money. With the outbreak of the German-French War 1870, in Kaiserslautern there was a shortage of money. At the time, the city belonged as part of the Palatinate to the territory of the kingdom of Bavaria.

Because of this shortage, Kaiserslautern issued loan bills at the denominations of 1, 2 and 5 guilders that were distributed to companies. Bills are preserved with the stamps of the Eisenwerke (iron works) Kaiserslautern and of the Kammgarnspinnerei (worsted spinning mill) Kaiserslautern.

A further emergency money issue was planned for Nuremberg but never took place. The communal authority, the trade committee and trade association had ordered a one-guilder bill to be created. The bill was, however, never distributed and the entire edition of 100,000 pieces was destroyed. An issue of a two-guilder bill which had already been approved was not even printed.

The partial collections of "Paper Bill in Bavaria" available in bavarikon

Facebook

Notgeldscheine des 19. Jahrhunderts

Diese Sammlung ist ein Teil des Bestandes "Papiergeld Bayerns" der HVB Stiftung Geldscheinsammlung.

Im 19. Jahrhundert gab es nur eine bayerische Notgeldausgabe. Mit Ausbruch des Deutsch-Französischen Krieges 1870 kam es in Kaiserslautern zu einer Zahlungsmittelknappheit. Die Stadt gehörte damals als Bestandteil der Pfalz zum Territorium des Königreichs Bayern.

Aufgrund der Knappheit gab Kaiserslautern Darlehensscheine aus. Diese Scheine wurden in den Wertstufen 1, 2 und 5 Gulden an Firmen verteilt. Erhalten sind Scheine mit den Stempeln der Eisenwerke Kaiserslautern und der Kammgarnspinnerei Kaiserslautern.

Eine weitere Notgeldausgabe war in Nürnberg geplant, kam aber nie zur Ausgabe. Die Gemeindebehörde, der Handelsvorstand und Gewerbeverein ließen einen 1-Gulden-Schein herstellen. Der Schein wurde jedoch nicht ausgegeben, die gesamte Auflage von 100.000 Stück wurde vernichtet. Eine genehmigte Ausgabe über zwei Gulden wurde gar nicht mehr gedruckt.

Die anderen Teilsammlungen zu "Papiergeld Bayerns" in bavarikon