Facebook

Contact

Münchner Stadtbibliothek - Musikbibliothek
Rosenheimer Straße 5
81667 München

Telephone: +49 (0)89/48098-3333
Fax: +49 (0)89/48098-3344
E-mail: stb.musikbibliothek.kult@muenchen.de

Map

Links

The Musikbibliothek of the Münchner Stadtbibliothek

The Münchner Musikbibliothek (Munich Music Library) was founded by the musical journalist Paul Marsop (1856–1925) in 1902. It opened to the public in 1905. Marsop was inspired by the idea to educate the people and to enable all levels of the population to gain access to good music. Therefore, he provided his private musical collection as well as substantial financial means to implement his plan of a "Musikalische Volksbibliothek" (musical people's library). The Münchner Musikbibliothek thus became the first of over 30 musical people's libraries Marsop was going to found during the following years in Europe.

In 1907, the library became a donation to the Munich magistrate. Subsequently, in 1925/26, the then director of the Stadtbibliothek (municipal library), Hans Ludwig Held (1885–1954), reorganised it and incorporated it into the association of municipal libraries. By 1929, the library had grown to an inventory of 28,000 volumes and moved to larger premises on Salvatorplatz. In 1935, a soundproof music room with a concert grand piano was installed there. Two years later record archives were set up together with facilities for playing them. Thanks to the spirited intervention of the librarians, in 1936 sheet music of ostracised composers could be saved from destruction by the Nazi regime. In 1946 Dr. Alfons Ott (1914–1976) became director. He divided the library into part loan library and part scholarly reference library. In 1984, the move into the newly constructed Kulturzentrum Gasteig (Cultural Centre Gasteig) took place. As a result, the Münchner Musikbibliothek was now physically incorporated into the Münchner Stadtbibliothek.

The Musikbibliothek of the Münchner Stadtbibliothek is the largest municipal music library in Germany. Its inventory combines important autograph manuscripts with rare prints (rara) as well as with numerous bequests by Munich and Bavarian composers. It also includes popularised music literature, sheet music for gaining practical experience and a substantial collection of sound recording media. Easy-access musical offers for non-professional music lovers, the support of schoolchildren and students as well as the provision of a broad range of literature for professional musicians form part of the tasks performed by the Musikbibliothek and so is the supply of a scientific reference library for the purpose of academic research and teaching.

Based on Paul Marsop's private library consisting of 2,000 exemplars of sheet music and books, which he had made available as basis, the collection grew to a present inventory of c.250,000 media thanks to a busy activity of collecting and acquisition as well as to the numerous donations and bequests. Manuscripts by Johannes Brahms, Richard Strauss and Max Reger belong to the collection's showpieces. 80 bequests by musicians and composers such as Hans Knappertsbusch, Mark Lothar, Anton Beer-Walbrunn and Kurt Brüggemann as well as special collections, for example the Volksliedarchiv König (Folksong Archive König) and the Gitarristisches Archiv (Guitarist Archive), found their homes in the Musikbibliothek. At first limited to classical music, from 1961, jazz and popular music became part of the collections.

Collections of the Münchner Stadtbibliothek – Musikbibliothek on bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Münchner Stadtbibliothek - Musikbibliothek
Rosenheimer Straße 5
81667 München

Telefon: +49 (0)89/48098-3333
Fax: +49 (0)89/48098-3344
E-Mail: stb.musikbibliothek.kult@muenchen.de

Karte

Links

Münchner Stadtbibliothek - Musikbibliothek

Die Münchner Musikbibliothek wurde 1902 von dem Musikschriftsteller Paul Marsop (1856-1925) gegründet und konnte 1905 eröffnet werden. Angetrieben von dem volksbildnerischen Gedanken, allen Bevölkerungsschichten den Zugang zu guter Musik zu ermöglichen, stellte Marsop seine private Musiksammlung sowie beträchtliche Geldmittel zur Verfügung, um seine Idee einer "Musikalischen Volksbibliothek" umzusetzen. Damit war die Münchner Musikbibliothek die erste von mehr als 30 musikalischen Volksbibliotheken, die Marsop in den folgenden Jahren in Europa gründete.

1907 ging die Bibliothek als Schenkung an den Münchner Magistrat und wurde 1925/26 vom damaligen Stadtbibliotheksdirektor Hans Ludwig Held (1885-1954) neu organisiert und in den Verband der städtischen Bibliotheken eingegliedert. 1929 erfolgte mit einem Bestand von mittlerweile 28.000 Bänden der Umzug in größere Räume am Salvatorplatz. Dort wurde 1935 ein schalldichtes Spielzimmer mit einem Konzertflügel und zwei Jahre später ein Schallplattenarchiv samt Vorführraum eingerichtet. Dank einer beherzten Rettungsaktion der Bibliothekare konnten 1936 Noten verfemter Komponistinnen und Komponisten vor der Zerstörung durch das NS-Regime bewahrt werden. 1946 übernahm Dr. Alfons Ott (1914-1976) die Leitung, der die Bibliothek in eine Ausleihabteilung und eine wissenschaftliche Präsenzbibliothek aufgliederte. 1984 erfolgte durch den Umzug in das neu gebaute Kulturzentrum Gasteig nun auch die räumliche Eingliederung in die Münchner Stadtbibliothek.

Die Musikbibliothek der Münchner Stadtbibliothek ist die größte kommunale Musikbibliothek Deutschlands. Sie vereint in ihrem Bestand bedeutende Autographe und seltene Drucke (Rara) sowie zahlreiche Nachlässe Münchner und bayerischer Komponistinnen und Komponisten, aber auch populärwissenschaftliche Musikliteratur sowie spielpraktische Notenausgaben und einen umfangreichen Tonträgerbestand. Niederschwellige musikalische Angebote für musikbegeisterte Laien, die Unterstützung von Schülern und Studierenden sowie die Bereitstellung eines breiten Spektrums an Literatur für Profimusiker gehören genauso zu den Aufgaben der Musikbibliothek wie die Bereitstellung einer wissenschaftlichen Präsenzbibliothek für Forschung und Lehre.

Aufbauend auf Paul Marsops Privatbibliothek von 2.000 Noten und Büchern, die er als Grundstock zur Verfügung stellte, wuchs der Bestand dank reger Sammel- und Akquisitionstätigkeit sowie zahlreicher Schenkungen und Nachlässe auf heute etwa 250.000 Medien. Handschriften von Johannes Brahms, Richard Strauss und Max Reger gehören zu den Prunkstücken der Sammlung. 80 Nachlässe von Musikern und Komponisten wie Hans Knappertsbusch, Mark Lothar, Anton Beer-Walbrunn und Kurt Brüggemann sowie Spezialsammlungen wie das Volksliedarchiv König und das Gitarristische Archiv fanden in der Musikbibliothek ihre Heimat. Anfangs auf klassische Musik beschränkt, wurden ab 1961 auch Jazz und Unterhaltungsmusik in den Bestand aufgenommen.

Sammlungen der Münchner Stadtbibliothek - Musikbibliothek in bavarikon