Facebook

Contact

Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt
Auf der Schanz 45
85049 Ingolstadt

Telephone: +49 (0)841/305-1881, -1885
Fax: +49 (0)841/305-1888
E-mail: stadtmuseum@ingolstadt.de
E-mail: bauerngeraetemuseum@ingolstadt.de

Map

Links

The Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt

In January 1981, the Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt (Municipal Museum Ingolstadt) was reopened after it had moved out of the New Palace in 1965.

At that time, the rich collections disappeared in storage rooms. It took 15 years until Ingolstadt received a new city museum. The Kavalier Hepp Fortress, which is itself a monument of Ingolstadt’s history, was found to be an excellent building for a museum. It also houses the Stadtarchiv (municipal archive) and the Wissenschaftliche Stadtbibliothek (Scientific Library).

The Cavalier Hepp Fortress was built between 1838 and 1843. It was named after Major Kaspar von Hepp (1758–1806). The cavaliers lost their importance as early as in 1875, when the outer belts of the fortress were built.

The history of the Stadtmuseum is closely linked to that of the Historischer Verein, which was founded in 1865. In addition to the maintenance of the historical knowledge about Ingolstadt and its surroundings through lectures and publications, the association saw its duty in collecting objects of historical importance. The collection was initially distributed between the town hall and the mediaeval Kreuztor. The governor of the fortress of Ingolstadt, his Excellency Karl von Sauer (1834–1911), suggested the foundation of the museum.

In 1904, the city provided a space, but it was linked to the condition that the association made its collection the city’s property as the basis for a museum.

In 1905, the museum was established in the old university building, the Hohe Schule, and in 1906 it was expanded. In 1907, the first “Führer durch das Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt” (Guide through the Municipal Museum Ingolstadt) was published. The main attractions were the Swedish grey horse, i.e. King Gustav Adolf’s horse from Sweden, and the Privilegienbuch (Book of Privileges). In 1925, the municipal archive, library and the museum moved to the New Palace, which was bombed in 1945 but subsequently rebuilt. When the city council decided in 1973 to renovate the Cavalier Hepp Fortress, the fortress was in a very poor condition. After the war, it had been used as emergency housing. With the completion of reconstruction and renovation work done, it became clear that the building is very well suited for a museum.

The Collections of the Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt

Facebook

Kontakt

Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt
Auf der Schanz 45
85049 Ingolstadt

Telefon: +49 (0)841/305-1881, -1885
Fax: +49 (0)841/305-1888
E-Mail: stadtmuseum@ingolstadt.de
E-Mail: bauerngeraetemuseum@ingolstadt.de

Karte

Links

Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt

Im Januar 1981 wurde das Ingolstädter Stadtmuseum wieder eröffnet, nachdem es 1965 aus dem Neuen Schloss ausgezogen war.

Die reichen Bestände verschwanden damals in Lagerräumen. Es dauerte 15 Jahre, bis Ingolstadt ein neues Stadtmuseum bekam. Mit dem Festungsbauwerk Kavalier Hepp, das selbst ein Monument Ingolstädter Geschichte ist, wurde ein Gebäude gefunden, das sich hervorragend für ein Museum eignet. Gleichzeitig sind darin das Stadtarchiv und die Wissenschaftliche Bibliothek untergebracht.

Das Kavalier Hepp wurde 1838 bis 1843 erbaut. Benannt wurde es nach Major Kaspar von Hepp (1758 bis 1806). Ihre Bedeutung verloren die Kavaliere bereits ab 1875, als die äußeren Fortgürtel gebaut wurden.

Die Geschichte des Stadtmuseums ist eng mit der des Historischen Vereins verbunden, der 1865 gegründet wurde. Neben der Pflege der Geschichte Ingolstadts und seines Umlands durch Vorträge und Veröffentlichungen sah der Verein seine Aufgabe im Sammeln geschichtlich bedeutsamer Objekte. Die Sammlung war zunächst auf das Rathaus und im mittelalterlichen Kreuztor verteilt. Die Anregung zur Gründung gab der Gouverneur der Festung Ingolstadt, Exzellenz Karl von Sauer (1834-1911).

1904 stellte die Stadt einen Raum zur Verfügung, knüpfte daran aber die Bedingung, dass der Verein seine Sammlung als Grundstock für ein Museum in das Eigentum der Stadt überführt.

1905 wurde das Museum im alten Universitätsgebäude, der Hohen Schule, eingerichtet, 1906 wurde es schon erweitert und bereits 1907 erschien der erste "Führer durch das Stadtmuseum Ingolstadt", Hauptattraktionen waren der Schwedenschimmel, also das Pferd König Gustav Adolfs von Schweden, und das Privilegienbuch. 1925 zogen Stadtarchiv, Bibliothek und Stadtmuseum ins Neue Schloss um, das 1945 von Bomben getroffen, aber wiederaufgebaut wurde. Als der Stadtrat 1973 entschied, das Kavalier Hepp zu sanieren, befand sich der Festungsbau in einem sehr schlechten Zustand. Nach dem Krieg waren dort Notwohnungen eingerichtet worden. Nach Abschluss der Umbau- und Renovierungsarbeiten zeigte sich, dass das Gebäude für ein Museum sehr gut geeignet ist.

Sammlungen des Stadtmuseums Ingolstadt in bavarikon