Manuscripts from Bavarian libraries and archives in the UNESCO Memory of the World Programme

In 1992, UNESCO established the "Memory of the World" programme to ensure free access to important documents for the people of our world and to preserve the documentary heritage. Valuable book collections, manuscripts, scores, unique specimens, visual, audio and film documents "which represent the collective memory of the people in the various countries of our world" will be listed.

Germany is represented with 24 entries in UNESCO's Memory of the World Register. They document the diversity of German contributions to cultural history in the variety of the tradition's content, forms and places.

The importance of the Bavarian cultural heritage has been made visible by the inclusion of numerous objects in the "Memory of the World" programme. Included in the register are:

  • the richly illuminated manuscripts of the monastery of Reichenau on Lake Constance from the 10th/11th century, which are now in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library) in Munich and the Staatsbibliothek Bamberg (Bamberg State Library) (listed in 2003),
  • eight magnificent codices from the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich, which originate from the Renaissance Library of the Hungarian King Mathias Corvinus (Bibliotheca Corviniana) (2005),
  • manuscript A of the Nibelungenlied, the most famous heroic epic of Middle High German literature, in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Munich (2009),
  • the Lorsch Pharmacopoeia from the Staatsbibliothek Bamberg as the oldest medical book of the Occidental Middle Ages (2013),
  • copies of the Golden Bull, the most important constitutional document of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation until its end in 1806, in the Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv (Bavarian Main State Archive) in Munich and the Staatsarchiv Nürnberg (Nuremberg State Archive) (2013).

>> This collection is part of the Staatsbibliothek Bamberg (State Library Bamberg), the Bayerisches Hauptstaatsarchiv (Bavarian Main State Archive) and the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library).

Handschriften aus bayerischen Bibliotheken und Archiven im UNESCO Memory of the World Programme

Im Jahr 1992 gründete die UNESCO das Programm "Memory of the World", um den freien Zugang zu bedeutsamen Dokumenten der Menschheit zu sichern und das dokumentarische Erbe zu bewahren. Aufgenommen werden wertvolle Buchbestände, Handschriften, Partituren, Unikate, Bild-, Ton- und Filmdokumente, „die das kollektive Gedächtnis der Menschen in den verschiedenen Ländern unserer Erde repräsentieren“.

Deutschland ist mit 24 Einträgen im Memory of the World-Register der UNESCO vertreten. Sie dokumentieren die Vielfalt deutscher Beiträge zur Kulturgeschichte in der Verschiedenheit der Inhalte, Formen und Orte der Überlieferung.

Die Bedeutung des bayerischen Kulturerbes wurde durch die Aufnahme zahlreicher Objekte in das "Memory of the World"-Programm sichtbar gemacht. Die Auszeichnung erhielten:

  • die reich illuminierten Handschriften des Klosters Reichenau am Bodensee aus dem 10./11. Jahrhundert, die sich heute in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München und der Staatsbibliothek Bamberg befinden (aufgenommen 2003),
  • acht prachtvolle Codices der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München, die aus der Renaissance-Bibliothek des ungarischen Königs Mathias Corvinus (Bibliotheca Corviniana) stammen (2005)
  • die Handschrift A des Nibelungenlieds, des berühmtesten Heldenepos der mittelhochdeutschen Literatur, in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München (2009),
  • das Lorscher Arzneibuch der Staatsbibliothek Bamberg als das älteste medizinische Buch des abendländischen Mittelalters (2013),
  • Exemplare der Goldenen Bulle, des wichtigsten Verfassungsdokuments des Heiligen Römischen Reiches Deutscher Nation bis zu dessen Ende im Jahre 1806, im Bayerischen Hauptstaatsarchiv München und im Staatsarchiv Nürnberg (2013).

>> Diese Sammlung ist ein Bestand der Staatsbibliothek Bamberg und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.