Facebook

Contact

The Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus
Maria-Theresia-Straße 23
Barrier-free entrance: Sieberstraße 2
81675 Munich

Telephone: +49 (0)89/419472-13 (-17)
Fax: +49 (0)89/41947250
E-mail: monacensia.info@muenchen.de

Map

Links

The Monacensia in the Hildebrandhaus

The Monacensia in the Hildebrandhaus is a traditional institution belonging to the Münchner Stadtbibliothek. It houses the city of Munich's literary archive and is one of the most important research libraries for anyone interested in Munich's history and cultural life.

The Monacensia was founded by the first full-time municipal library director Hans Ludwig Held (1885-1954). The writer and philosopher of religion initiated the establishment of a Munich library as an independent department of the Münchner Stadtbibliothek in 1922. In 1924 he laid the foundation stone for the manuscript department, today's literary archive. The Monacensia has been housed in the former artist villa belonging to the sculptor Adolf von Hildebrand (1847-1921) since 1977.

Collections

The library with its unique collection of books on the subject of "Munich", comprising some 150,000 media, is committed to scientific research. The main focus of the collection is Munich as a city of literature and culture. The library's holdings range from old Munich prints from the 16th century to current new publications.

The literature archive's collection comprises some 300 literary estates, premature legacies and collections from renowned writers closely associated with Munich. These include Herbert Rosendorfer, Oskar Maria Graf, Frank Wedekind, Annette Kolb, Franziska zu Reventlow, Therese Giehse, Herbert Achternbusch, Ludwig Thoma, Lena Christ, Bally Prell, Gisela Elsner, Gert Heidenreich and many more. The literary archive's main focuses include the collection areas Munich authors in exile after 1933, Bohemian Schwabing around 1900, contemporary literature as well as Munich folk artists and cabaret artists such as Liesl Karlstadt, Bally Prell, Roider Jackl, Erni Singerl and Jörg Hube. With the complete estates of Klaus and Erika Mann, over 800 letters and manuscripts by Thomas Mann as well as numerous letters, manuscripts and photographs by Golo, Monika, Michael and Elisabeth Mann, Monacensia is an internationally renowned research centre on the Mann family.

Literature promotion

The Monacensia in the Hildebrandhaus presents its holdings and research results to the public through various forms of literature promotion. These include permanent and special exhibitions, publications, guided tours, city walks, readings, book presentations, lectures, conferences and seminars. As a partner for science and education, Monacensia enables broad basic research. The scientific indexing of the estates in the literary archive is an integral part of everyday university life at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.

Collections owned by the Monacensia in the Hildebrandhaus available in bavarikon

Exhibitions of the Monacensia in bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus
Maria-Theresia-Straße 23
Barrierefreier Eingang: Sieberstraße 2
81675 München

Telefon: +49 (0)89/419472-13 (-17)
Fax: +49 (0)89/41947250
E-Mail: monacensia.info@muenchen.de

Karte

Links

Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus

Die Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus ist eine traditionsreiche Einrichtung der Münchner Stadtbibliothek. Sie beherbergt das Literaturarchiv der Stadt München sowie eine der wichtigsten Forschungsbibliotheken für alle, die sich für die Geschichte und das kulturelle Leben Münchens interessieren.

Gegründet wurde die Monacensia von dem ersten hauptamtlichen Stadtbibliotheksdirektor Hans Ludwig Held (1885-1954). 1922 veranlasste der Schriftsteller und Religionsphilosoph den Aufbau einer München-Bibliothek als selbständige Abteilung der Münchner Stadtbibliothek. 1924 legte er den Grundstein für die Handschriftenabteilung, dem heutigen Literaturarchiv. Seit 1977 ist die Monacensia in der ehemaligen Künstlervilla des Bildhauers Adolf von Hildebrand (1847-1921) beheimatet.

Sammlungen

Die Bibliothek mit einer einzigartigen, rund 150.000 Medien umfassenden Sammlung von Büchern zum Thema „München“ ist der wissenschaftlichen Forschung verpflichtet. Sammlungsschwerpunkt ist München als Literatur- und Kulturstadt. Die Bestände der Bibliothek reichen von alten Münchner Drucken des 16. Jahrhunderts bis zu aktuellen Neuerscheinungen.

Die Sammlung des Literaturarchivs umfasst rund 300 literarische Nachlässe, Vorlässe und Konvolute renommierter Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller, die in enger Verbindung zu München stehen. Dazu gehören Herbert Rosendorfer, Oskar Maria Graf, Frank Wedekind, Annette Kolb, Franziska zu Reventlow, Therese Giehse, Herbert Achternbusch, Ludwig Thoma, Lena Christ, Bally Prell, Gisela Elsner, Gert Heidenreich und viele mehr. Zu den Schwerpunkten des Literaturarchivs zählen die Sammlungsbereiche Münchner Autorinnen und Autoren im Exil nach 1933, Schwabinger Bohème um 1900, Gegenwartsliteratur sowie Münchner Volkskünstler und Kabarettisten wie Liesl Karlstadt, Bally Prell, Roider Jackl, Erni Singerl und Jörg Hube. Mit den kompletten Nachlässen von Klaus und Erika Mann, über 800 Briefen und Manuskripten von Thomas Mann sowie zahlreichen Briefen, Manuskripten und Fotografien von Golo, Monika, Michael und Elisabeth Mann ist die Monacensia eine international viel beachtete Forschungsstelle zur Familie Mann.

Literaturvermittlung

Durch vielfältige Formen der Literaturvermittlung präsentiert die Monacensia im Hildebrandhaus ihre Bestände und Forschungsergebnisse der Öffentlichkeit. Dazu gehören Dauer- und Sonderausstellungen, Publikationen, Führungen, Stadtspaziergänge, Lesungen, Buchpräsentationen, Vorträge, Tagungen und Seminare. Als Partnerin für Wissenschaft und Bildung ermöglicht die Monacensia eine breite Grundlagenforschung. Die wissenschaftliche Erschließung der Nachlässe im Literaturarchiv ist fest in den universitären Alltag an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München eingebunden.

Ausstellungen der Monacensia in bavarikon