Facebook

Contact

Neue Residenz
Domplatz 8
96049 Bamberg

Phone: +49 (0)951/519390
Email: info@pinakothek.de

Map

Links

The Staatsgalerie in der Neuen Residenz Bamberg

The Staatsgalerie (State Gallery) is located at the Bamberg New Residence and consists of two departments:

Old-German Department

In the former residence of the prince-bishops of Bamberg, masterpieces of the late Gothic and early Renaissance owned by the state of Bavaria and by the city of Bamberg are exhibited, which form an important ensemble of paintings from Bamberg, Franconia and Cologne. Among them are major works from the Boisserée Collection, the famous gallery of Old-German, predominantly Old-Cologne paintings, which in 1827 King Ludwig I of Bavaria acquired for the Alte Pinakothek, then under construction.

Baroque Gallery

The baroque section of the Staatsgalerie displays monumental gallery paintings by Johann Michael Bretschneider (1656-1727), works by Rubens' teacher Otto van Veen (c. 1556-1629) and by the Rembrandt contemporary Jan Lievens (1607-1674) as well as Dutch landscape paintings and still-lifes. A separate room is dedicated to the collection of the Bamberg prince-bishops: 40 paintings hung in several rows illustrate the collecting and display customs of the Baroque.

Architecture

The Neue Residenz (New Residence) of the Bamberg prince-bishops was built and extended between 1613 and 1703 and is provided with over 40 state rooms. Prince-Bishop Johann Philipp von Gebsattel (1555-1609) built the part in renaissance style, while Prince-Bishop Lothar Franz von Schönborn (1655-1729) commissioned the baroque part of the residence.

The Staatsgalerie in the New Residence Bamberg is affiliated to the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen (Bavarian State Paintings Collections).

Facebook

Kontakt

Neue Residenz
Domplatz 8
96049 Bamberg

Telefon: +49 (0)951/519390
Email: info@pinakothek.de

Karte

Links

Staatsgalerie in der Neuen Residenz Bamberg

Die Staatsgalerie befindet sich in der Neuen Residenz in Bamberg und besteht aus zwei Abteilungen:

Altdeutsche Abteilung

In der ehemaligen Fürstbischöflichen Residenz zu Bamberg sind Meisterwerke der Spätgotik und Frührenaissance aus den Beständen des Staates und der Stadt Bamberg ausgestellt, die sich zu einem bedeutenden Ensemble bambergischer, fränkischer und kölnischer Malerei zusammenfügen. Darunter befinden sich Hauptwerke der Sammlung Boisserée, der berühmten Galerie altdeutscher, überwiegend altkölner Malerei, die König Ludwig I. von Bayern 1827 für die damals im Bau befindliche Alte Pinakothek erwarb.

Barockgalerie

Die Barockabteilung der Staatsgalerie zeigt monumentale Galeriebilder von Johann Michael Bretschneider (1656-1727), Werke des Rubens-Lehrers Otto van Veen (um 1556-1629) und des Rembrandt-Zeitgenossen Jan Lievens (1607-1674) sowie niederländische Landschaftsgemälde und Stillleben. Ein eigener Raum ist der Sammlung der Bamberger Fürstbischöfe gewidmet: 40 Gemälde veranschaulichen hier in mehrreihiger Hängung die Sammel- und Präsentationsgewohnheiten des Barock.

Architektur

Die Neue Residenz der Bamberger Fürstbischöfe wurde zwischen 1613 und 1703 errichtet und ausgebaut und ist mit über 40 Prunkräumen ausgestattet. Der Füstbischof Johann Philipp von Gebsattel (1555–1609) ließ den Teil im Renaissancestil bauen, während der Fürstbischof Lothar Franz von Schönborn (1655–1729) den barocken Teil der Residenz beauftragte.

Die Staatsgalerie in der Neuen Residenz Bamberg ist den Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen angegliedert.