The useful and pleasurable company of close neighbours on the river Isar

A periodical with the title "Die Nutz- und Lust-erweckende Gsellschafft Der Vertrauten Nachbarn am Isarstrom" was published for the first time from 1702 to 1704 in Munich. The periodical was in the form of a discursive periodical. Each of the five volumes is divided into a preface and six collections. Discussions of society's fictitious events are reproduced in the process. In the "discussions", the fictional narrators deal with the political topics of the day, report on events in Bavarian history or entertain one another with instructive and edifying stories. Books are also discussed with a clear tendency to reject un-Catholic literature.

The periodical was Bavarian-patriotic and Catholic. One of its basic concerns was to glorify the reigning Elector Max Emanuel (ruled 1679-1726). The pseudonyms for members of society, Maximus Feldzwinger, Ehrenwert von Sigensburg, Emanuel von Heldenmarck, also show the journal's panegyric basic tendency. The Isar was regarded as the allegorical embodiment of Bavaria; the society's fictitious meeting places are also located here.
The sponsors of the Society are to be assumed in the context of the Munich court, whose mouthpiece is the periodical published at the beginning of the War of the Spanish Succession (1701-1715). Three of the alleged 20 members are known by name, namely the officials Urban Heckenstaller (died 1748), Johann Kandler (1644-1718) and Johann Georg Littich (1681-1717).

After the end of Max Emanuel's winning streak with the Battle of Höchstädt in 1704 and the subsequent occupation of Bavaria by imperial troops, this first Bavarian periodical came to an abrupt end, with Heckenstaller actively participating in the Bavarian peasant revolt in 1705.

Florian Sepp

>> This collection is part of the holdings of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library).

Die Nutz- und Lust-erweckende Gsellschafft Der Vertrauten Nachbarn am Isarstrom

Unter dem Titel "Die Nutz- und Lust-erweckende Gsellschafft Der Vertrauten Nachbarn am Isarstrom" erschien 1702-1704 erstmalig eine Zeitschrift in München. Die Zeitschrift hat die Form eines Gesprächsjournals. Jeder der fünf Bände ist in eine Vorrede und sechs Versammlungen gegliedert. Dabei werden die Unterredungen fiktiver Veranstaltungen der Gesellschaft wiedergegeben. In den "Unterredungen" behandeln die fiktiven Erzähler tagespolitische Themen, berichten über Vorgänge in der bayerischen Geschichte oder unterhalten einander mit belehrend-erbaulichen Erzählungen. Auch Bücher werden - mit der klaren Tendenz zur Abwehr unkatholischen Schrifttums - besprochen.

Die Zeitschrift war bayerisch-patriotisch und katholisch ausgerichtet. Eines ihrer Grundanliegen war es, den regierenden Kurfürsten Max Emanuel (reg. 1679-1726) zu verherrlichen. Auch die Decknamen der Mitglieder der Gesellschaft - Maximus Feldzwinger, Ehrenwert von Sigensburg, Emanuel von Heldenmarck - zeigen die panegyrische Grundtendenz des Organs. Die Isar galt dabei als allegorische Verkörperung Bayerns; an ihr sind auch die fiktiven Versammlungsorte der Gesellschaft angesiedelt.

Die Träger der Gesellschaft sind im Umfeld des Münchner Hofes zu vermuten, als dessen Sprachrohr die Zeitschrift zu Beginn des Spanischen Erbfolgekriegs (1701-1715) erscheint. Von den angeblich 20 Mitgliedern sind drei namentlich bekannt, nämlich die Beamten Urban Heckenstaller (gest. 1748), Johann Kandler (1644-1718) und Johann Georg Littich (1681-1717).

Nach dem Ende der Siegesserie Max Emanuels mit der Schlacht von Höchstädt 1704 und der anschließenden Besetzung Bayerns durch kaiserliche Truppen kam das rasche Ende dieser ersten bayerischen Zeitschrift, wobei sich Heckenstaller 1705 aktiv am bayerischen Bauernaufstand beteiligte.

Florian Sepp

>> Diese Sammlung ist ein Bestand der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.