Facebook

Contact

KOENIGmuseum
Am Prantlgarten 1
84028 Landshut

Telefon: +49 (0)871/9223890
E-Mail: koenigmuseum@landshut.de

Map

Links

The KOENIGmuseum

The KOENIGmuseum is located on the edge of the Gothic old town of Landshut and is the most prominent part of the Lower Bavarian capital's museum quarter. It houses the work and collections of the sculptor Fritz Koenig (1924-2017), who contributed them to the Fritz-und-Maria-Koenig Foundation together with his wife in 1993. The museum was called the "Skulpturenmuseum im Hofberg" until the end of 2018. It was built by Peter Gehring and Meike Gerchow on behalf of the City of Landshut in accordance with Fritz Koenig's relevant planning specifications.

Hidden behind the brickwork of the medieval city wall, the KOENIGmuseum was driven into the hill as a windowless building. Its strict rooms in exposed concrete stand in charming contrast to the small brick façade, which also presents itself from the inside in its original appearance. The building covers a total area of 2,200 square metres, approximately 1,000 square metres are available exclusively for exhibition purposes.

After three years of construction work, the KOENIGmuseum was opened on 20 June 1998 with a comprehensive retrospective of Fritz Koenig's sculptural and graphic work. Various exhibitions on the sculptor and graphic artist's work and collections were shown up until his death on 22 February 2017. Koenig had curated all these exhibitions himself. Besides "Drawings, paper cuts, cardboard reliefs", it was mainly the "My Africa" and "My Noah's Ark" exhibitions that attracted visitors from all over the world.

The Skulpturenmuseum im Hofberg was renamed KOENIGmuseum in 2018; the city of Landshut is responsible for the material expenditure. In addition to guided tours and lectures, educational museum programmes invite visitors to the KOENIGmuseum in the heart of Landshut. An outside location with objects from the Fritz-und-Maria-Koenig-Stiftung's collection is located in the enclosure of the Cistercian Seligenthal Abbey in Landshut.

Collections of the KOENIGmuseum available in bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

KOENIGmuseum
Am Prantlgarten 1
84028 Landshut

Telefon: +49 (0)871/9223890
E-Mail: koenigmuseum@landshut.de

Karte

Links

KOENIGmuseum

Am Rande der gotischen Altstadt von Landshut gelegen, ist das KOENIGmuseum prominentester Teil des Museumsquartiers der niederbayerischen Landeshauptstadt. Es beherbergt das Werk und die Sammlungen des Bildhauers Fritz Koenig (1924‒2017), die jener gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau im Jahr 1993 in die Fritz-und-Maria-Koenig-Stiftung eingebracht hatte. Das Museum hieß bis Ende 2018 "Skulpturenmuseum im Hofberg". Errichtet wurde es im Auftrag der Stadt Landshut von Peter Gehring und Meike Gerchow nach maßgeblichen Planungsvorgaben von Fritz Koenig.

Verborgen hinter dem Sichtziegelmauerwerk der mittelalterlichen Stadtmauer, wurde das KOENIGmuseum als fensterloser Bau in den Berg hineingetrieben. Seine strengen, in Sichtbeton ausgeführten Räume stehen in reizvollem Gegensatz zur kleinteiligen Ziegelfassade, die sich auch von innen in ihrer ursprünglichen Anmutung präsentiert. Der Bau umfasst eine Gesamtfläche von 2200 qm, zirka 1000 qm stehen ausschließlich für Ausstellungszwecke zur Verfügung.

Nach Ende der dreijährigen Bauzeit wurde das KOENIGmuseum am 20. Juni 1998 mit einer umfassenden Retrospektive des skulpturalen wie grafischen Schaffens Fritz Koenigs eröffnet. Bis zu seinem Tod am 22. Februar 2017 wurden verschiedene Ausstellungen zu Werk und Sammlungen des Bildhauers und Zeichners gezeigt. Alle diese Ausstellungen hatte Koenig selbst kuratiert. Neben "Zeichnungen, Papierschnitte, Kartonreliefs" waren es vor allem die Ausstellungen "Mein Afrika" und "Meine Arche Noah", die Besucher aus aller Welt anzogen.

2018 wurde das Skulpturenmuseum im Hofberg in KOENIGmuseum umbenannt; Sachaufwandsträger ist die Stadt Landshut. Neben Führungen und Vorträgen laden museumspädagogische Programme zum Besuch des KOENIGmuseums im Herzen von Landshut ein. Ein Außenstandort mit Objekten aus der Sammlung der Fritz-und-Maria-Koenig-Stiftung befindet sich im Klausurbereich der Zisterzienserinnen-Abtei Seligenthal in Landshut.

Sammlungen des KOENIGmuseums in bavarikon