Contact

Stadtarchiv Kronach
Marktplatz 5
96317 Kronach

Telephone: +49 (0)9261/97293
E-mail: stadtarchiv@stadt-kronach.de

Map

Links

The Stadtarchiv Kronach

In 1889, "all documents, records and files on the magistrate" were taken over by the clergyman and local historian Karl Heinrich Traut and were kept from then on in the municipal local history museum at Rosenberg Fortress.

In 1909, the archives were moved to the fortress' Princes' Building, where they remained for decades. The archive was given its current home with the construction of the new town hall in 1976.

The Stadtarchiv Kronach (Kronach City Archive) preserves the files of the Kronach City Administration and its foundations as well as the official records of the formerly independent communities of Dörfles, Fischbach, Friesen, Gehülz, Glosberg, Gundelsdorf, Höfles, Knellendorf, Neuses, Seelach, Vogtendorf, Wötzelsdorf and Ziegelerden. Archive records of the former manors Haßlach and Stockheim are also part of the collection.

The prince-bishop Bamberg district seat of Kronach became part of the kingdom of Bavaria in 1803.

Two documents from the year 1381 and the Council and Court Book from 1387-1404 are the oldest preserved archive records. The council minutes books, fief and court books are among the city's most important historical sources.

In addition to the official documents, the Stadtarchiv Kronach has an extensive newspaper archive, starting with the General Gazette for the city of Cronach and the surrounding area in 1852, and a photo archive whose earliest photographs date back to the 1880s.

The map and plan collection's special highlights include the demolition of Peter Zweidler's Vogtei Nordhalben in 1605 and the floor plans of the Rosenberg Fortress by the building and barracks inspector Johann Jacob Wagner in 1758.

The remains of the former Franciscan monastery library, the collection of prints, mainly from the 19th and 20th centuries, including works by the Kronach artist Lorenz Kaim (1813-1885) and film footage of Kronach and its surroundings from the 1920s to the 1940s are also worth mentioning.

Collections owned by the Stadtarchiv Kronach available in bavarikon

Facebook

Kontakt

Stadtarchiv Kronach
Marktplatz 5
96317 Kronach

Telefon: +49 (0)9261/97293
E-Mail: stadtarchiv@stadt-kronach.de

Karte

Links

Stadtarchiv Kronach

Im Jahr 1889 wurden „alle auf dem Magistrat befindlichen Urkunden, Dokumente und Akten“ von dem Geistlichen und Heimatforscher Karl Heinrich Traut übernommen und ab diesem Zeitpunkt im Städtischen lokalhistorischen Museum auf der Festung Rosenberg verwahrt.

1909 erfolgte ein Umzug des Archivguts in den Fürstenbau der Festung, wo es über Jahrzehnte verblieb. Sein heutiges Domizil erhielt das Archiv mit dem Bau des neuen Rathauses 1976.

Das Kronacher Stadtarchiv verwahrt die Akten der Stadtverwaltung Kronach und ihrer Stiftungen sowie das amtliche Schriftgut der ehemals selbstständigen Gemeinden Dörfles, Fischbach, Friesen, Gehülz, Glosberg, Gundelsdorf, Höfles, Knellendorf, Neuses, Seelach, Vogtendorf, Wötzelsdorf und Ziegelerden. Auch Archivalien der ehemaligen Rittergüter Haßlach und Stockheim sind Teil des Bestandes.

Die fürstbischöflich-bambergische Amtsstadt Kronach wurde 1803 Teil des Königreichs Bayern.

Zwei Urkunden des Jahres 1381 und das Rats- und Gerichtsbuch von 1387-1404 sind die ältesten erhaltenen Archivalien. Die Ratsprotokollbücher, Lehens- und Gerichtsbücher gehören zu den wichtigsten stadtgeschichtlichen Quellen.

Neben den amtlichen Dokumenten verfügt das Stadtarchiv Kronach über ein umfangreiches Zeitungsarchiv – beginnend mit dem Allgemeinen Anzeiger für die Stadt Cronach und Umgegend des Jahres 1852 –, des weiteren über ein Fotoarchiv, dessen früheste Aufnahmen in die 1880er Jahre zurückreichen.

Zu den Besonderheiten der Karten- und Plansammlung zählen zum einen der Abriss der Vogtei Nordhalben Peter Zweidlers aus dem Jahr 1605, zum anderen Grundrisse der Festung Rosenberg des Bau- und Kaserneninspektors Johann Jacob Wagner von 1758.

Erwähnenswert sind darüber hinaus Überreste der ehemaligen Klosterbibliothek der Franziskaner, der Bestand an Graphiken, vorwiegend des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, darunter Arbeiten des Kronacher Künstlers Lorenz Kaim (1813-1885) sowie Filmaufnahmen von Kronach und Umgebung aus den 1920er bis 1940er Jahren.

Sammlungen des Stadtarchivs Kronach in bavarikon