Facebook

The estate of Paul Heyse (1830-1914) - Heyse-Archiv

Paul Heyse (1830-1914) was a German poet and writer. He was the first author of fiction to be awarded the Nobel Prize (1910).

Born the son of the philology professor Karl Wilhelm Ludwig Heyse and Julie Heyse (née Saaling) – a relative of the house of Mendelssohn Bartholdy – Paul Heyse grew up in a middle-class educational environment. He was regarded as having many talents from an early age and was introduced to Berlin's cultural elite circles by his mother. Here he made the acquaintance of the 15 years older poet Emanuel Geibel (1815-1884), who was already an established and highly esteemed poet at that time. Geibel set about promoting the talented young man and introduced him to a number of influential personalities. Among them was the art historian Franz Kugler, who also became his advocate and whose daughter Margaretha he was to marry in 1854. Through Kugler, Heyse got to know the historian Jacob Burckhardt, the painter and illustrator Adolph Menzel and the writers Theodor Fontane and Theodor Storm. By 1850, Heyse's network was extensive and his reputation so strong that he was now in a position to launch other writers, including Fontane and Storm. Emanuel Geibel promoted his friend again in 1854 and obtained employment for Heyse at the court of the Bavarian King Maximilian II. From now on Heyse received a considerable pension, which secured his economic existence and enabled him to work as a freelance writer. In 1868, Heyse submitted his resignation request in response to the dismissal of his friend Geibel by Ludwig II. He lived and worked in Munich until his death in 1914.

Heyse belonged to the Berlin literary "Sunday society" "Tunnel über der Spree" (founded in 1827) and made his first acquaintance with the Bavarian capital's writers and lyricists as a member of the "Münchner Dichterkreis". However, he quickly distanced himself again from the literarily rather antiquated poets of the "Münchner Dichterkreis" and founded the poets' society "Die Krokodile" in 1854. Its members included Emanuel Geibel as well as the writers Friedrich Bodenstedt (1819-1892), Felix Dahn (1834-1912), Wilhelm Hemsen (1829-1885), Hermann Lingg (1820-1905), Melchior Meyr (1810-1871), the scholars Moritz Carrière (1817-1895), Sigmund Lichtenstein (1822-1881), Karl von Lützow (1832-1897), Adolf Zeising (1810-1876) and Adolf Zeising (1810-1876).

Heyse's importance lies in his extensive literary oeuvre and his literary-theoretical reflections on the novella. As a result, he developed the "falcon theory", which is still used today; it says that the central plot of an ideal-typical novella has to find its climax in an unexpected turning point, the "falcon".
The estate is partially catalogued and bears the signature "Heyse-Archiv" and Cgm 6471 – 6525. 6540. 6581. 6604 – 6606. 6900. 6901. 6933. 6955. 7069 7239. 7307. 8098. 8099. 8100. 8215. L.impr.c.n.mss. 244

>> This estate belongs to the collection of estates from the holdings of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library).

Facebook

Nachlass Paul Heyse (1830-1914) - Heyse-Archiv

Dieser Nachlass gehört zu der Sammlung Nachlässe aus dem Bestand der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.

Paul Heyse (1830-1914) war ein deutscher Dichter und Schriftsteller. Er wurde als erster Autor belletristischer Literatur mit dem Nobelpreis (1910) ausgezeichnet.

Geboren als Sohn des Philologie-Professors Karl Wilhelm Ludwig Heyse und Julie Heyse (geb. Saaling) ­­­ – eine Verwandte des Hauses Mendelssohn Bartholdy – wuchs Paul Heyse in einer bildungsbürgerlichen Umgebung auf. Schon früh galt er als vielseitig begabt und wurde von seiner Mutter in die Kreise der Berliner Kultur-Eliten eingeführt. Hier machte er unter anderem die Bekanntschaft des 15 Jahre älteren Lyrikers Emanuel Geibel (1815-1884), der zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits ein etablierter und hochgeschätzter Lyriker war. Geibel schickte sich an, den talentierten jungen Mann zu fördern und machte ihn mit einer Reihe einflussreicher Persönlichkeiten bekannt. Zu diesen zählte auch der Kunsthistoriker Franz Kugler, der ebenso zu seinem Fürsprecher wurde und dessen Tochter Margaretha er 1854 heirateten sollte. Durch Kugler wiederum lernte Heyse den Historiker Jacob Burckhardt, den Maler und Illustrator Adolph Menzel sowie die Schriftsteller Theodor Fontane und Theodor Storm kennen. Bis 1850 war Heyses Netzwerk weitreichend und sein Ruf so gefestigt, dass er nun selbst in der Position war, andere Schriftsteller, hierunter Fontane und Storm, zu lancieren. 1854 setze sich Emanuel Geibel erneut für seinen Freund ein und erwirkte die Anstellung Heyses am Hof des bayerischen Königs Maximilian II. Von nun an erhielt Heyse eine erkleckliche Pension, die seine wirtschaftliche Existenz sicherte und die es ihm ermöglichte, als freier Schriftsteller zu arbeiten. 1868 reichte Heyse sein Entlassungsgesuch als Reaktion auf die Entlassung seines Freundes Geibel durch Ludwig II. ein. Er lebte und arbeitete bis zu seinem Tod 1914 in München.

Heyse gehörte dem Berliner literarischen Sonntagskreis "Tunnel über der Spree" (gegr. 1827) an und machte als Mitglied des "Münchner Dichterkreises" erste Bekanntschaft mit den Schriftstellern und Lyrikern der bayerischen Landeshauptstadt. Rasch distanzierte er sich jedoch wieder von den literarisch eher antiquierten Dichtern des "Münchner Dichterkreises" und gründete 1854 den Dichterverein "Die Krokodile". Zu dessen Mitgliedern gehörten neben Emanuel Geibel auch die Schriftsteller Friedrich Bodenstedt (1819-1892), Felix Dahn (1834-1912), Wilhelm Hemsen (1829-1885), Hermann Lingg (1820-1905), Melchior Meyr (1810-1871); die Gelehrten Moritz Carrière (1817-1895), Sigmund Lichtenstein (1822-1881), Karl von Lützow (1832-1897), Adolf Zeising (1810-1876) u. a.

Heyses Bedeutung liegt in seinem umfangreichen schriftstellerischen Œuvre und seinen literaturtheoretischen Überlegungen zur Novelle. So entwickelte er die noch heute angewendete "Falkentheorie"; die besagt, dass die zentrale Handlung einer idealtypischen Novelle in einem unerwarteten Wendepunkt, dem "Falken", ihren Höhepunkt zu finden habe.

Der Nachlass ist teilweise erschlossen und trägt die Signatur "Heyse-Archiv" und Cgm 6471 – 6525. 6540. 6581. 6604 – 6606. 6900. 6901. 6933. 6955. 7069 7239. 7307. 8098. 8099. 8100. 8215. L.impr.c.n.mss. 244