The art collection belonging to the Tucher von Simmelsdorf family

Outstanding works of art bear witness to the singular importance of the Tucher patrician family for Nuremberg to this day. Artists such as Albrecht Dürer, Veit Stoß and Wenzel Jamnitzer worked on its commission. Just some of these works were scattered in museums at home and abroad. A larger part is still in situ, as many cultural assets were able to return to churches in the city and the surrounding area after the destruction of Nuremberg during the war. Furthermore, many objects are still in the care of the family itself thanks to its foundations.

These include the furnishings of the castles Schoppershof and Simmelsdorf, the country estate which their name relates to. Loans from the Tucher’schen Kulturstiftung are represented in the Germanisches Nationalmuseum (German National Museum) and in two City of Nuremberg institutions.

The extensive Tucher archive in the Stadtarchiv Nürnberg not only offers a sound insight into the history of the family and the city from the 14th to the 20th century. The magnificent highlight among the manuscripts is the Große Tucherbuch, commissioned in 1590, a book on the lineage on parchment with masterly ornamental lettering and coloured miniatures.

The inventory at the Museum Tucherschloss, which is run by the City of Nuremberg museums on the family's former garden estate, is the heart of the collections. Works that are closely linked to the family history stand out from the patrician household's prestigious furnishing, which includes all genres of arts and crafts from the 15th to the 19th century.

The portrait of the famous Jerusalem pilgrim Hans VI Tucher (1428-1491) from the workshop of Michael Wolgemut and the two-part married couple portrait by Hans Schäufelein are representative of the Tucher's extensive portrait collection. The latter shows the builder of the castle Lorenz II Tucher (1490-1554) and his wife Katharina, née Straub. Tapestries with the Tucher-Straub alliance coat of arms have been preserved from the original furnishings.

The works of Wenzel Jamnitzer deserve special mention in the field of arts and crafts: a double trophy, which was a wedding present from Linhart Tucher (1487-1568) to his son Herdegen IV in 1564, as well as an eight-part magnificent service created in 1553-1562. A part of the vessels here were made by Jamnitzer, while their decoration out of the finest painters' enamel was made in Limoges by Pierre Reymond. This ensemble (Limoges-Service) is considered to be unique in its genre.

Claudia Däubler-Hauschke

The part collection of "The art collection belonging to the Tucher von Simmelsdorf family" available on bavarikon

>> This collection is part of the holdings of the Tucher’sche Kulturstiftung (Tucher Cultural Foundation) and is mainly located in the Museum Tucherschloss und Hirsvogelsaal.

Kunstsammlung der Familie Tucher von Simmelsdorf

Herausragende Kunstwerke zeugen bis heute von der singulären Bedeutung der Patrizierfamilie Tucher für Nürnberg. In ihrem Auftrag arbeiteten Künstler wie Albrecht Dürer, Veit Stoß und Wenzel Jamnitzer. Nur ein Teil dieser Werke wurde in Museen im In- und Ausland verstreut. Ein größerer Teil befindet sich noch in situ, da nach der Kriegszerstörung Nürnbergs viele Kulturgüter wieder in die Kirchen der Stadt und im Umland zurückkehren konnten. Im Weiteren sind viele Objekte – dank ihrer Stiftungen – noch in Obhut der Familie selbst.

Hierzu gehören die Ausstattungen der Schlösser Schoppershof und Simmelsdorf, dem namensgebenden Landsitz der Familie. Leihgaben der Tucher’schen Kulturstiftung sind im Germanischen Nationalmuseum und in zwei Institutionen der Stadt Nürnberg vertreten.

Das umfangreiche Tucherarchiv im Stadtarchiv Nürnberg verwahrt nicht nur die Familienakten, sondern auch ein Zeichnungskonvolut und einige illustrierte Handschriften. Prunkvolles Glanzstück ist das 1590 in Auftrag gegebene Große Tucherbuch, ein mit meisterlicher Zierschrift und farbigen Miniaturen ausgestattetes Geschlechterbuch auf Pergament.

Das Inventar im Museum Tucherschloss, das von den Museen der Stadt Nürnberg im ehemaligen Gartenanwesen der Familie betrieben wird, bildet das Herzstück der Bestände. Aus der repräsentativen Einrichtung des Patrizierhaushaltes, der alle Gattungen an Kunst und Kunsthandwerk vom 15. bis zum 19. Jahrhundert umfasst, ragen Werke heraus, die eng mit der Familiengeschichte verknüpft sind.

Stellvertretend für die umfangreiche Porträtsammlung der Tucher seien das Bildnis des berühmten Jerusalempilgers Hans VI. Tucher (1428–1491) aus der Werkstatt Michael Wolgemuts und das zweiteilige Ehepaarbildnis von Hans Schäufelein genannt. Letzteres zeigt den Bauherrn des Schlosses Lorenz II. Tucher (1490–1554) und seine Frau Katharina, eine geborene Straub. Von der Originalausstattung haben sich unter anderem Tapisserien mit den Allianzwappen Tucher-Straub erhalten.

Aus dem Bereich des Kunsthandwerkes sind die Arbeiten von Wenzel Jamnitzer hervorzuheben: ein Doppelpokal, der 1564 ein Hochzeitsgeschenk von Linhart Tucher (1487–1568) an seinen Sohn Herdegen IV. war, sowie ein 1553–1562 entstandenes, achtteiliges Prunkservice. Hier stammt ein Teil der Gefäße von Jamnitzer, während deren Dekoration aus feinstem Maleremail in Limoges von Pierre Reymond gefertigt wurde. Dieses Ensemble (sog. Limoges-Service) gilt in seiner Gattung als einzigartig.

Claudia Däubler-Hauschke

Die Teilsammlung zur "Kunstsammlung der Familie Tucher von Simmelsdorf" in bavarikon

>> Diese Sammlung ist ein Bestand der Tucher’schen Kulturstiftung.