Contact

Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts
Kurstr. 36
10117 Berlin

Telephone: +49 (30) 1817-2179
E-mail: 117-R@auswaertiges-amt.de

Map

Links

The Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts

The Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts (Federal Foreign Office Political Archive) preserves the written records of the German Foreign Service and Germany’s international treaties. The Foreign Service Act (GAD) describes the remit as follows: "The originals or certified copies of the German Reich and Federal Republic of Germany’s international treaties as well as all documents required by the Foreign Service to fulfil its tasks are kept in the Federal Foreign Office Political Archive. The provisions of the Federal Archives Act on the use of federal archival records shall apply mutatis mutandis." (Article 10 GAD). Only parts of the records are kept in the Federal Archives.

The files from the Foreign Office, initially founded in 1870 for the North German Confederation and taken over by the German Reich one year later, form the core of the holdings, which have been added to since reunification with the GDR Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ documents. This also includes the records of the respective foreign representations. The German Reich, Federal Republic of Germany and GDR’s international treaties form a special collection of documents.

The written material kept here essentially begins in the founding year 1870, with individual predecessors going back to the first half of the 19th century. In the Foreign Office during the imperial era, one single office was sufficient, the "Central Office", which was both a registry and an archive. A separate archive was not established until the beginning of the Weimar period in 1920.

The Political Archive has a reading room for external users with a capacity of about 30 seats. Since the end of 2020, the centralised search tool has been "invenio" developed by the Federal Archives. A small but important part of the holdings can already be viewed online there. This has been made possible by increased digitisation since 2016, which is continuing. The Political Archive is present online at www.archiv.diplo.de.

Exhibitions with the participation of the Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts available in bavarikon

Kontakt

Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts
Kurstr. 36
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 (30) 1817-2179
E-Mail: 117-R@auswaertiges-amt.de

Karte

Links

Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts

Das Politische Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts verwahrt die schriftliche Überlieferung des deutschen Auswärtigen Dienstes und die völkerrechtlichen Verträge Deutschlands. Das Gesetz über den Auswärtigen Dienst (GAD) beschreibt die Aufgaben folgendermaßen: "Im Politischen Archiv des Auswärtigen Amts werden die Urschriften oder beglaubigten Abschriften der völkerrechtlichen Vereinbarungen des Deutschen Reiches und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland sowie alle Unterlagen aufbewahrt, die der Auswärtige Dienst zur Erfüllung seiner Aufgaben benötigt. Die Vorschriften des Bundesarchivgesetzes über die Nutzung von Archivgut des Bundes sind entsprechend anzuwenden." (§ 10 GAD). Nur Teile der Überlieferung befinden sich im Bundesarchiv.

Die Akten des Auswärtige Amts, 1870 zunächst noch für den Norddeutschen Bund gegründet, ein Jahr später vom Deutschen Reich übernommen, bilden den Kern der Bestände, dazu kommen seit der Wiedervereinigung die Unterlagen des Ministeriums für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten der DDR. Auch die Überlieferung der jeweiligen Auslandsvertretungen gehört dazu. Einen besonderen Urkundenbestand bilden die völkerrechtlichen Verträge des Deutschen Reichs, der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und der DDR.

Das hier verwahrte Schriftgut setzt im Wesentlichen ein im Gründungsjahr 1870, mit einzelnen Vorläufern, die bis in die erste Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts zurückreichen. Im Auswärtigen Amt der Kaiserzeit genügte noch eine einzige Stelle, das "Zentralbüro", die gleichzeitig Registratur und Archiv darstellte. Ein eigenes Archiv wurde erst zu Beginn der Weimarer Zeit im Jahr 1920 eingerichtet.

Das Politische Archiv verfügt über einen Lesesaal für externe Benutzer mit einer Kapazität von rund 30 Plätzen. Zentrales Findmittel ist seit Ende 2020 das vom Bundesarchiv entwickelte Tool "invenio". Ein kleiner, aber wichtiger Teil der Bestände kann dort bereits online eingesehen werden. Ein Digitalisierungsschub seit 2016, der fortgesetzt wird, hat das ermöglicht. Das Politische Archiv ist im Internet präsent unter www.archiv.diplo.de.