Contact

DB Museum
Lessingstraße 6
90443 Nürnberg

Telephone: +49 (0)800 32687386
E-mail: dbmuseum@deutschebahnstiftung.de

Map

Links

The DB Museum

Founded in 1882, the DB Museum is the oldest railway museum in the world. Its core remit is to preserve, research and communicate German railway history.

The range of exhibitions covers the beginnings of the railway to present day as well as questions about mobility in the future. Around 15,000 exhibits ranging from whistles to signal boxes, a large number of historic original vehicles and the Modellarium, a permanent exhibition of vehicle models, not only illustrate the technical developments but also the impact of the railway on political, social and cultural history.

In addition to railway vehicles and a wide range of objects, the collections include a photo collection, an archive and a special library, the latter of which is open to the public.

First established in 1882 by the Bavarian State Railway in Munich as a museum for Bavarian railway history, it moved in 1899 to the birthplace of the German railway: to Nuremberg. The steam locomotive “Adler” opened the railway era in Germany there with nine passengers on 7 December 1835. From then on, the museum was called the “Königlich Bayerisches Eisenbahnmuseum” (Royal Bavarian Railway Museum).

In 1901 a new department for post services and telegraphy was opened in the museum and the building was renamed the “Königlich Bayerisches Verkehrsmuseum” (Royal Bavarian Transport Museum). Soon the expanded museum needed more space. The ground-breaking ceremony was held at the current location in Nuremberg’s Lessingstraße in 1914. Shortly afterwards, the First World War interrupted the construction work. After the end of the war, the work was continued, the two museum departments were separated and assigned to different authorities. Both museums now expanded their collections to include developments in Germany as a whole. The construction work was completed in 1925 and the museum moved to its current base. It has a total of 9,700 m² of exhibition space: 8,500 m² for the railway and 1,200 m² for postal services.

The reform of the railways and postal services in the mid-1990s brought significant structural changes for the Transport Museum. As part of the “Museumsstiftung Post und Telekommunikation” (Post and Telecommunications Museum Foundation), the transport museum’s postal services department founded in 1902, was renamed the “Museum für Kommunikation” (Museum of Communication).

In 1996, Deutsche Bahn AG took over the transport museum’s railway department as a company museum. It was given the name “DB Museum”. Since then, two independent museums have been located under the old transport museum’s roof. In the early 2000s, the DB Museum opened two external locations in Koblenz and Halle (Saale).

Since 1 April 2013, the DB Museum has been part of the Deutsche Bahn Stiftung gGmbH, which brings together all Deutsche Bahn AG’s charitable activities. The aim of the institution besides the preservation of the railway’s cultural heritage is the non-material and material promotion of society, especially in the areas of education, integration, environment and humanitarian aid.

Exhibitions with the participation of the DB Museum available in bavarikon

Kontakt

DB Museum
Lessingstraße 6
90443 Nürnberg

Telefon: +49 (0)800 32687386
E-Mail: dbmuseum@deutschebahnstiftung.de

Karte

Links

DB Museum

Im Jahr 1882 gegründet, ist das DB Museum das älteste Eisenbahnmuseum der Welt. Seine Kernaufgabe besteht in der Bewahrung, Erforschung und Vermittlung der deutschen Eisenbahngeschichte.

Die Bandbreite der Ausstellungen reicht von den Anfängen der Eisenbahn bis in unsere Zeit sowie Fragen zur Mobilität der Zukunft. Rund 15.000 Ausstellungsobjekte von der Trillerpfeife bis zum Stellwerk, eine Vielzahl historischer Originalfahrzeuge und das Modellarium, eine Dauerausstellung rund um Fahrzeugmodelle, illustrieren neben den technischen Entwicklungen die Auswirkung der Eisenbahn auf politik-, sozial- und kulturhistorische Themen.

Die Sammlungen umfassen neben den Eisenbahnfahrzeugen und vielfältigen Objekten eine Fotosammlung, ein Archiv sowie eine Spezialbibliothek, letztere sind öffentlich zugänglich.

Zunächst im Jahre 1882 von der bayerischen Staatseisenbahn in München als Museum für bayerische Eisenbahngeschichte errichtet, zog es 1899 an die Wiege der deutschen Eisenbahn um: nach Nürnberg. Dort eröffnete am 7. Dezember 1835 die Dampflokomotive "Adler" mit neun Personenwagen das Eisenbahnzeitalter in Deutschland. Das Museum trug fortan den Namen "Königlich Bayerisches Eisenbahnmuseum".

Im Jahre 1901 wurde im Museum eine neue Abteilung für Post und Telegrafie eröffnet und das Haus in "Königlich Bayerisches Verkehrsmuseum" umbenannt. Bald benötigte das erweiterte Museum mehr Platz. 1914 erfolgte der erste Spatenstich am heutigen Standort in der Nürnberger Lessingstraße. Kurz darauf unterbrach der Erste Weltkrieg die Bauarbeiten. Nach Kriegsende wurden die Arbeiten fortgesetzt, die beiden Museumsabteilungen getrennt und unterschiedlichen Behörden zugeordnet. Beide Museen weiteten ihr Sammlungsgebiet nun auf die gesamtdeutsche Entwicklung aus. 1925 wurden die Bauarbeiten abgeschlossen und das Museum zog in seinen jetzigen Hauptsitz. Es verfügt über insgesamt 9.700 m² Ausstellungsfläche: 8.500 m² für die Bahn und 1.200 m² für die Post.

Die Reform von Bahn und Post Mitte der 1990er Jahre brachte wesentliche strukturelle Veränderungen für das Verkehrsmuseum. Als Teil der "Museumsstiftung Post und Telekommunikation" wurde die 1902 gegründete Postabteilung des Verkehrsmuseums in "Museum für Kommunikation" umbenannt.

1996 übernahm die Deutsche Bahn AG die Eisenbahnabteilung des Verkehrsmuseums als Firmenmuseum. Es erhielt den Namen "DB Museum". Seitdem befinden sich zwei eigenständige Museen unter dem Dach des alten Verkehrsmuseums. Anfang der 2000er Jahre eröffnete das DB Museum zwei Außenstandorte in Koblenz und Halle (Saale).

Seit 1. April 2013 ist das DB Museum Teil der Deutsche Bahn Stiftung gGmbH, die alle gemeinnützigen Aktivitäten der Deutschen Bahn AG bündelt. Das Ziel der Institution ist, neben der Bewahrung des kulturellen Erbes der Eisenbahn, die ideelle und materielle Förderung der Gesellschaft, v. a. in den Bereichen Bildung, Integration, Umwelt sowie Humanitäre Hilfe.