Facebook

The Collection of Letters of Christoph Jacob Trew

This collection is part of the holdings of the Universitätsbibliothek Erlangen-Nürnberg (Friedrich Alexander University Library).

The Briefsammlung (letter collection) of Christoph Jakob Trew (1695-1769), a doctor and scientist from Nuremberg, is one of the world's largest known letter collections with a medical and scientific focus. It contains about 19,000 letters and drawings by 2,200 authors from the sixteenth to eighteenth centuries. The insights into the history of science of the early modern era are as diverse as the addressees and senders: the coeval history of ideas in surgery and anatomy, zoology and botany become as vivid as the concrete everyday life of medical practice and natural history research. Trew left the complete collection of letters to the University of Altdorf in 1769. After its dissolution in 1809, the collection came to Erlangen together with the 34,000 volumes of his scholar's library, where it would be included in the holdings of the University Library.

The Trew collection of letters is a unique source for research in the history of science and art in two respects: through the third-party correspondence that Christoph Jacob Trew collected during his lifetime, individual autographs of important representatives of natural and intellectual history since humanism can be found here. There are also separate correspondences incorporated into the collection of letters, such as that of Lorenz Heister (1683-1758), who worked as an anatomist and surgeon at Nuremberg University in Altdorf and published what was probably the most important surgical textbook of his time. Trew’s own correspondence offers the opportunity to examine the communication structures, the production of knowledge and the social interaction of the republic of letters at the time.

Under Trew’s direction, the world’s first medical weekly, the Commercium Litterarium, was published in Nuremberg from 1731 to 1745. It was largely based on the medical, chemical and natural history information that arrived in Nuremberg through Trew’s tightly knit and dynamically operated network of letters.

Trew was also responsible for the publication of unique illustrated anatomical and botanical works. He worked closely with Johann Jacob Haid (1704 -1767), a copper engraver and publisher from Augsburg. These letters are preserved in the Trew collection and offer an insight into the production process of Trew’s Plantae Selectae and other illustrated works.

Facebook

Briefsammlung des Christoph Jacob Trew

Diese Sammlung ist ein Bestand der Universitätsbibliothek Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Die Briefsammlung des Nürnberger Arztes und Wissenschaftlers Christoph Jakob Trew (1695–1769) ist eine der weltweit größten bekannten Briefsammlungen mit medizinischem und naturwissenschaftlichem Schwerpunkt. Sie enthält etwa 19.000 Briefe und Entwürfe von 2.200 Autoren des 16. bis 18. Jahrhunderts. So vielfältig wie die Adressaten und Absender sind die wissenschaftshistorischen Einblicke in die Welt der frühen Neuzeit: Die zeitgenössischen Ideenwelten der Chirurgie und Anatomie, der Zoologie und Botanik werden ebenso plastisch wie der konkrete Alltag medizinischer Praxis und naturkundlicher Forschung. Trew hinterließ die komplette Briefsammlung im Jahr 1769 der Universität Altdorf. Nach deren Auflösung 1809 kam sie zusammen mit den 34.000 Bänden seiner Gelehrtenbibliothek nach Erlangen, wo sie in die Bestände der Universitätsbibliothek aufgenommen wurde.

Die Briefsammlung Trew stellt eine in doppelter Hinsicht einzigartige Quelle für die wissenschafts- und kunsthistorische Forschung dar: Durch die Drittkorrespondenzen, die Christoph Jacob Trew zu Lebzeiten sammelte, finden sich hier einzelne Autographen wichtiger Vertreter und Vertreterinnen der Natur- und Geistesgeschichte seit dem Humanismus sowie eigenständige, in die Briefsammlung inkorporierte Korrespondenzen, etwa die von Lorenz Heister (1683-1758), der als Anatom und Chirurg an der Nürnberger Universität in Altdorf wirkte und dort das wohl wichtigste chirurgische Lehrbuch seiner Zeit veröffentlichte. Anhand Trews eigener Korrespondenz bietet sich die Möglichkeit, die Kommunikationsstrukturen, die Wissensproduktion und die soziale Interaktion der damaligen Gelehrtenrepublik zu untersuchen.

Unter Trews Leitung kam in Nürnberg von 1731 bis 1745 die erste medizinische Wochenschrift der Welt, das "Commercium litterarium", heraus. Es basierte maßgeblich auf den medizinischen, chemischen und naturhistorischen Informationen, die durch Trews eng geknüpftes und dynamisch bedientes Briefnetz in Nürnberg einliefen.

Trew war auch für die Herausgabe einzigartiger illustrierter anatomischer und botanischer Werke verantwortlich. Er arbeitete dabei in enger schriftlicher Abstimmung vor allem mit Johann Jacob Haid (1704 - 1767) zusammen, einem Augsburger Kupferstecher und Verleger. Diese Briefe sind in der Trew-Sammlung erhalten und bieten die Möglichkeit, in den Produktionsablauf von Trews "Plantae Selectae" und anderer illustrierter Werke Einblick zu nehmen.