Contact

Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München
Katharina-von-Bora-Straße 10
80333 München

Telephone: +49 (0)89 - 28 92 76 50
Fax: +49 (0)89 - 28 92 76 53
E-mail: info@sgsm.eu

Map

Links

The Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München

The Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München (State Collection of Prints and Drawings Munich) originally dates back to the copperplate engraving and drawing cabinet established by Elector Karl Theodor (1742-1799 Elector Palatine, Elector Palatine of Bavaria from 1777) at Mannheim Palace in 1758. The holdings were transferred to Munich just before 1800.

Alongside the cabinets in Berlin and Dresden, the collection preserves the most important collection of drawings and prints in Germany and is one of the world’s leading graphic cabinets. Its holdings of over 400,000 sheets cover all periods of the art of drawing and printmaking from the 12th century to the 21st century. The focus is on old German 15th and 16th century prints, Dutch art from the "Golden Age", Italian drawings particularly from the Renaissance, German Baroque and 19th century drawings, US-American art from the post-war period and international graphic modern art.

Until 1917, the prints and drawings collection was housed in the Alte Pinakothek, and from 1917 to 1944 in the Neue Pinakothek’s former building. After its destruction, it was temporarily housed in 1949 in the NSDAP’s former administration building, the so-called Haus der Kulturinstitute (House of Cultural Institutes), where it is still located today. Interested visitors have the opportunity to view works from the collection in the study room. Its exhibition rooms are located in the Pinakothek der Moderne.

Exhibitions under the participation of the "Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München" available on bavarikon

Kontakt

Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München
Katharina-von-Bora-Straße 10
80333 München

Telefon: +49 (0)89 - 28 92 76 50
Fax: +49 (0)89 - 28 92 76 53
E-Mail: info@sgsm.eu

Karte

Links

Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München

Die Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München geht ursprünglich auf das 1758 gegründete Kupferstich- und Zeichnungskabinett des Kurfürsten Karl Theodor (1742-1799 Kurfürst von der Pfalz, seit 1777 Kurfürst von Pfalzbayern) im Mannheimer Schloss zurück. Kurz vor 1800 wurden die Bestände nach München überführt.

Die Sammlung bewahrt neben den Kabinetten in Berlin und Dresden die bedeutendste Sammlung für Zeichnungen und Druckgraphik in Deutschland und gehört weltweit zu den führenden graphischen Kabinetten. Ihre Bestände von über 400.000 Blatt umfassen alle Epochen der Zeichenkunst und der Druckgraphik vom 12. Jahrhundert bis ins 21. Jahrhundert. Schwerpunkte sind altdeutsche Druckgraphik des 15. und 16. Jahrhunderts, niederländische Kunst des "Goldenen Zeitalters", italienische Zeichnungen insbesondere der Renaissance, deutsche Zeichnungen des Barock und des 19. Jahrhunderts, US-amerikanische Kunst der Nachkriegszeit und internationale Graphik der Gegenwart.

Bis 1917 war die Graphische Sammlung in der Alten Pinakothek und 1917-1944 im ehemaligen Bau der Neuen Pinakothek beheimatet. Nach deren Zerstörung wurde sie 1949 im vormaligen Verwaltungsgebäude der NSDAP provisorisch untergebracht, dem sogenannten Haus der Kulturinstitute, wo sie sich heute noch befindet. Im Studiensaal haben interessierte Besucherinnen und Besucher die Gelegenheit, sich Werke aus dem Bestand vorlegen zu lassen. Ihre Ausstellungsräume befinden sich in der Pinakothek der Moderne.

Ausstellungen unter Beteiligung der "Staatlichen Graphischen Sammlung München" in bavarikon