Facebook

Resources on the history of the Fugger family

This collection is part of the holdings of the Bayerische Staatsbiblitohek (Bavarian State Library).

The Fugger family, a family of weavers that had moved to Augsburg in 1367, in the course of the 15th and 16th century became one of Europe's most powerful merchant dynasties. Ennobled at the beginning of the 16th century, the Fuggers started to withdraw step by step from business during the second half of the century. In the decades following 1600 they adopted an aristocratic lifestyle.

In 2009 the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library) acquired two precious and highly informative books on the family history of the Fuggers. The "Geheimes Ehrenbuch" (secret book of honour) was crafted between 1545 and 1549 by the workshop of the Augsburg painter Jörg Breu d. J. The manuscript impressively illustrates the Fuggers' self-projection and is an outstanding product of late-Renaissance book illustration from the Augsburg workshop. It is regarded as one of the most important and most valuable family books of the German-language area.

The series of copper etchings "Fuggerorum et Fuggerarum… imagines" was published in 1593 and 1618 in a small number of copies for use by the family members. One generation later the idea of the book of honour was thus again taken up in a topical fashion. The coloured print comprises images of 138 members of the family Fugger von der Lilie. The copy acquired by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek has an unusual quality of coloration and is unique regarding its completeness.

Facebook

Quellen zur Geschichte der Familie Fugger

Diese Sammlung ist ein Bestand der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.

Die 1367 nach Augsburg zugewanderte Weberfamilie Fugger stieg im 15. und 16. Jahrhundert zu einem der mächtigsten Handelshäuser Europas auf. Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts in den Adelsstand erhoben, zogen sich die Fugger seit der zweiten Jahrhunderthälfte mehr und mehr aus dem Geschäftsleben zurück. In den Jahrzehnten nach 1600 gingen sie zu einem adligen Lebensstil über.

Im Jahr 2009 erwarb die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek zwei hochrangige Bücher zur Familiengeschichte der Fugger. Das "Geheime Ehrenbuch" der Fugger fertigte zwischen 1545 und 1549 die Werkstatt des Augsburger Malers Jörg Breu d.J. (gest. 1547) an. Die Handschrift ist ein beeindruckendes Zeugnis der Selbstdarstellung der Fugger und ein herausragendes Produkt der Augsburger Buchmalerei der Spätrenaissance. Sie gilt als eines der bedeutendsten und wertvollsten Familienbücher des deutschsprachigen Raumes.

Die 1593 und 1618 in kleiner Auflage für den Familiengebrauch erschienene Kupferstichfolge "Fuggerorum et Fuggerarum… imagines" nimmt eine Generation später den Gedanken des Ehrenbuchs in zeitgemäßer Form wieder auf. Der kolorierte Druck enthält Abbildungen von 138 Mitgliedern der Familie der Fugger von der Lilie. Das von der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek erworbene Exemplar ist außergewöhnlich qualitätsvoll koloriert und in diesem Umfang unikal.