Facebook

The estate of Philipp Apian (1531-1589) - Apianiana

Philipp Apian was born in Ingolstadt in 1531 and taught mathematics at the university there. After his conversion to Protestantism he had to leave Bavaria in 1569 and became professor of astronomy and geometry in Tübingen, where he died in 1589. With his topographical survey of Bavaria, he achieved such a thorough, sophisticated compilation in terms of surveying and artistic standards that it was only excelled by cartographers in the 18th century.

Apian's estate at the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library) consists of two small boxes. It contains drawn views of castles, palaces, monasteries and places as well as landscapes from the former Duchy of Bavaria, which were created as part of the work on the "Bayerische Landtafeln" (Bavarian land maps). These are drawings by Apian and woodcuts by Jost Amman (1539–1591) (Cgm 5379(3).

Apian kept a notebook on distance measurements on his land surveying travels (Apianana VI). Between 1554 and 1563 he created a monumental map of Bavaria on a scale of 1:45,000 by order of Duke Albrecht V (reigned 1550-1759). During the course of creating this great map, Apian produced preliminary drawings (Cod.icon. 142(1-7), so that the scope and planning of the undertaking becomes clear. These preliminary drawings are particularly important because the great map was destroyed in a fire in 1782.

The estate also includes the terrestrial globe (Cod.icon. 129) that Apian made for Albrecht V., a collection of coats of arms (Cgm 2287) and other preparatory work, manuscripts and preliminary drawings for the "Bayerische Landtafeln".

>> This estate belongs to the collection of estates from the holdings of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library).

Facebook

Nachlass Philipp Apian (1531-1589) - Apianiana

Dieser Nachlass gehört zu der Sammlung Nachlässe aus dem Bestand der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.

Philipp Apian wurde 1531 in Ingolstadt geboren und lehrte an der dortigen Universität Mathematik. Nach seinem Übertritt zum Protestantismus musste er Bayern 1569 verlassen und wurde Professor für Astronomie und Geometrie in Tübingen, wo er 1589 starb. Er leistete mit seiner topografischen Aufnahme Bayerns eine so gründliche, vermessungstechnisch wie künstlerisch anspruchsvolle Zusammenstellung, dass sie erst von Kartografen des 18. Jahrhunderts übertroffen wurde.

Der Nachlass Apians im Bestand der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek besteht aus zwei kleinen Schachteln. Er enthält gezeichnete Ansichten von Burgen, Schlössern, Klöstern und Orten sowie von Landschaften aus dem Raum des damaligen Herzogtums Bayern, die im Rahmen der Arbeiten an den "Bayerischen Landtafeln" entstanden. Es handelt sich um Zeichnungen Apians und Holzschnitte von Jost Amman (1539-1591) (Cgm 5379(3).

Auf Apians Reisen zur Landvermessung führte er ein Notizbuch zur Entfernungsmessung (Apianana VI). Zwischen 1554 und 1563 schuf er im Auftrag Herzog Albrechts V. (reg. 1550-1759) eine monumentale Karte von Bayern im Maßstab 1:45.000. Im Zuge der Entstehung dieser Großen Karte erstellte Apian Vorzeichnungen (Cod.icon. 142(1-7), sodass Umfang und Planung des Unternehmens deutlich werden. Diese Vorzeichnungen sind vor allem deswegen bedeutend, weil die Große Karte 1782 bei einem Brand zerstört wurde.

Des Weiteren befinden sich im Nachlass der Erdglobus (Cod.icon. 129), den Apian für Albrecht V. anfertigte, eine Wappensammlung (Cgm 2287) und weitere Vorarbeiten, Manuskripte und Vorzeichnungen für die "Bayerischen Landtafeln".