Contact

Hofbibliothek
Schloss Johannisburg
Schlossplatz 4
63739 Aschaffenburg
Head of Library: Karin L. Kuhn

Map

Links

The Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg

The Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg (Aschaffenburg Court Library) serves to provide literature and information for the 'Bayerische Untermain' region, i.e. the independent city of Aschaffenburg and the Aschaffenburg and Mittenberg districts. Due to its location and its centuries-long affiliation with the Electorate of Mainz, its catchment area also extends to Hessen. The collection comprises more than 135,000 volumes and contains literature for the humanities, social and natural sciences as well as regional literature. The valuable, partly unique old holdings include 58 manuscripts and 162 incunabula, 30,000 volumes from the period before 1900 and special collections such as prints, pamphlets of the Reformation, autographs, maps and plans etc.

The Court Library was founded by the Elector and Archbishop of Mainz, Friedrich Karl Joseph von Erthal (reigned 1774-1802). He was assisted in the planned construction of his private library in Mainz by the then very well-known poet Wilhelm Heinse (1746-1803) as the first full-time librarian. In 1794, the book collection was taken to the second residence Schloss Johannisburg (Johannisburg Palace) in Aschaffenburg, where it was kept safe from the French revolutionary army. After Erthal's death in 1802 his private library fell to the Electorate. His successor Karl Theodor von Dalberg (1744-1817) enriched the collection with book donations and new acquisitions. With Dalberg's Principality of Aschaffenburg, the Court Library passed to the Kingdom of Bavaria in 1814, but the collection and its cimelia remained in Aschaffenburg. During the Second World War, the library was relocated and thus saved from destruction, as Schloss Johannisburg burned down almost completely. It was not until 1960 that the Court Library was able to return to the rebuilt building.

The Court Library has been looking after the Abbey Library, which belongs to the Aschaffenburg General School and Study Fund, on permanent loan since 1962. Its holdings date back to the University Library of Aschaffenburg (1808-1818), the Lyceum Library (1818-1873) and the subsequently existing grammar school library. They also contain remains of the libraries from the former Aschaffenburg collegiate monastery of St. Peter and Alexander and the Jesuit College, which was abolished in 1773. In 1967, 7,000 volumes came to the Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg as a gift from the Jesuit convents in Aschaffenburg and Ravensburg. The Hugo Dingler Archive has been managing them as another permanent loan since 1980.

Collections owned by the Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg available on bavarikon

Kontakt

Hofbibliothek
Schloss Johannisburg
Schlossplatz 4
63739 Aschaffenburg
Bibliotheksleitung: Karin L. Kuhn

Karte

Links

Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg

Die Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg dient der Literatur- und Informationsversorgung der Region 'Bayerischer Untermain', das sind die kreisfreie Stadt Aschaffenburg und die Landkreise Aschaffenburg und Miltenberg. Aufgrund ihres Standortes und der jahrhundertelangen Zugehörigkeit zum Mainzer Kurfürstentum erstreckt sich ihr Einzugsgebiet auch auf hessische Gebiete. Die über 135.000 Bände umfassende Sammlung enthält Literatur für die Geistes-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften sowie landeskundliches Schrifttum. Zu den wertvollen, teils unikalen Altbeständen gehören 58 Handschriften und 162 Inkunabeln, 30.000 Bände aus der Zeit vor 1900 und Spezialsammlungen wie Druckgraphiken, Reformations-Flugschriften, Autographen, Karten und Pläne ect.

Gründer der Hofbibliothek war der Mainzer Kurfürst und Erzbischof Friedrich Karl Joseph von Erthal (reg. 1774–1802). Beim planmäßigen Aufbau seiner Privatbibliothek in Mainz wurde er vom damals sehr bekannten Dichter Wilhelm Heinse (1746–1803) als dem ersten hauptamtlichen Bibliothekar unterstützt. 1794 wurde die Büchersammlung vor der französischen Revolutionsarmee nach Aschaffenburg in die Zweitresidenz Schloss Johannisburg in Sicherheit gebracht, wo sie schließlich auch verblieb. Nach Erthals Tod 1802 fiel seine Privatbibliothek an den Kurstaat. Sein Nachfolger Karl Theodor von Dalberg (1744–1817) bereicherte die Sammlung durch Bücherschenkungen und Neuanschaffungen. Mit Dalbergs Fürstentum Aschaffenburg ging die Hofbibliothek im Jahr 1814 an das Königreich Bayern über; die Sammlung und ihre Zimelien blieben jedoch in Aschaffenburg. Im zweiten Weltkrieg wurde die Bibliothek ausgelagert und damit vor der Zerstörung gerettet, denn Schloss Johannisburg brannte fast vollständig aus. Erst 1960 konnte die Hofbibliothek in das wieder aufgebaute Gebäude zurückkehren.

Als Dauerleihgabe betreut die Hofbibliothek seit 1962 die dem Allgemeinen Schul- und Studienfonds Aschaffenburg gehörige Stiftsbibliothek, deren Bestände auf die Universitätsbibliothek Aschaffenburg (1808–1818), die Lyceumsbibliothek (1818–1873) und die anschließend bestehende Gymnasialbibliothek zurückgehen. Sie enthalten auch Reste der Bibliotheken des ehemaligen Aschaffenburger Kollegiatstiftes St.Peter und Alexander und des 1773 aufgehobenen Jesuitenkollegs. 1967 kamen 7.000 Bände von den Jesuitenkonventen Aschaffenburg und Ravensburg als Geschenk in die Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg. Seit 1980 wird als weitere Dauerleihgabe das Hugo Dingler-Archiv verwaltet.

Sammlungen der Hofbibliothek Aschaffenburg in bavarikon