Facebook

Pictures from the Estates of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek

The over 1,000 estates preserved by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library) include very rich, often unique visual material. Contrary to the photos from the archives of photographers, these exposures often have a more private character that makes them particularly interesting.

The images comprise views made in the most diverse graphic techniques. Among the photos are exposures from the earliest time of this technique, for example a daguerreotype of 1859 up to shots taken directly in the present age.

At the moment, over 3,000 photos from estates are available in digitised form for bavarikon. Most of them – over 1,800 images – consist of portraits of well-known and less known persons of the nineteenth century, collected by the scholar Hyazinth Holland (1827–1918). This collection is a unique example of its kind.

Further photo archives of the Picture Archive of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek:

>> This collection is part of the holdings of the Picture Archive of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library).

Facebook

Bilder aus den Nachlässen der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek

In den mehr als 1.000 Nachlässen, die die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek verwahrt, ist reichhaltiges, oftmals unikales Bildmaterial enthalten. Im Gegensatz zu den Aufnahmen aus den Archiven von Fotografen haben diese Bilder eher privaten Charakter, was sie besonders interessant macht.

Die Bilder umfassen Aufnahmen in den verschiedensten graphischen Techniken. Bei den Fotografien finden sich früheste Zeugnisse dieser Technik, wie eine Daguerreotypie aus dem Jahr 1859, bis hin zu Aufnahmen aus der unmittelbaren Gegenwart.

Derzeit liegen mehr als 3.000 Fotos aus Nachlässen digital für bavarikon vor. Den größten Teil – mehr als 1.800 Bilder – machen Porträts von bekannten und weniger bekannten Persönlichkeiten des 19. Jahrhunderts aus, die der Gelehrte Hyazinth Holland (1827-1918) gesammelt hat. Diese Sammlung ist ihrer Art einzigartig.

Weitere Fotoarchive des Bildarchivs der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek

>> Diese Sammlung ist eine Teilsammlung des Bildarchivs der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.